Africa Meeting of ES


2022 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society (VIRTUAL)
June 1 – June 4, 2022

The 2022 Africa Meeting of the Econometric Society will be held virtually from June 1-4, 2022, hosted by the Ethiopian Economic Association (EEA), Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Confirmed Keynote Speakers
Augustin Fosu (University of Ghana, Legon and ISSER)
Nobuhiro Kiyotaki (Princeton University) – Hotelling Lectures
Michael Kremer (University of Chicago, Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics – 2019)
Tavneet Suri (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan)
Guido Tabellini (Bocconi University), Presidential Address
Leonard Wantchekon (Princeton University)

Paper submission is open until March 30, 2022 (submission details below)

Registration open: March 20, 2022
Deadline for paper presenters to register: May 1, 2022
Early Registration Deadline: May 1, 2022.
Financial support notification sent (for presenters): April 15, 2022.
Financial support notification sent (for non-presenters): April 25, 2022.

Registration is now open for all participants of the conference. Registration categories and corresponding fees are shown below. Please note that all participants must register. Registration is through Oxford Abstracts at:
For Presenters and non-presenters who are members of the Econometric Society: please use the same email address as your Econometric Society account and follow the instructions provided. For non-presenters who are not members of Econometric Society: please create an account using your e-mail and follow the instructions provided.

Participants seeking financial support that covers the registration fee should submit their request to conference organizers at The request should be accompanied by the applicant’s CV and a clear designation of the type of participation at the conference that the applicant seeks (presenter – non-student, presenter – student, non-presenter – non-student, or non-presenter – student).

Conference fees
Early Registration Late Registration
Presenters – non-students $150 $200
Presenters – students $100 $130
Non-Presenters – non-students $25 $34
Non-Presenters – students $15 $20
Please direct questions to 

Paper Submissions
Submissions close: March 30, 2022 (only full papers count as submissions)
Decision notifications: April 15, 2022

The submission process is open through March 30th, 2022. Only full papers count as submissions. Papers can only be submitted electronically in PDF format through Oxford Abstracts at

To submit a paper, at least one author must be a member of the Econometric Society, and the submitter is the presumed presenter. All participants must register for the conference. You may join the Society at

Each person may submit and present only one paper; however, each person is allowed to be a co-author of several papers submitted to the conference.

Scientific Program Committee
Chair: Alemayehu Seyoum Taffesse (IFPRI)
Berhanu Abegaz (College of William and Marry, USA)
Getnet Alemu (Addis Ababa University)
Prosper Donovon (Concordia University)
Abdi-Khalil Edris (University of Malawi)
Tadele Ferede (Addis Ababa University)
Menna Bizuneh Fikru (Pitzer College)
Atnafu Gebremeskel (Addis Ababa University)
Degye Goshu (EEA) – Secretary
Shiferaw Gurmu (Georgie State University, USA)
Belay Kassa (Deputy Rector, Pan African University)
Legesse Kassa (University of South Africa)
Bereket Kebede (University of East Anglia, UK)
Adugna Lemi (University of Massachusetts)
Tewodros Makonnen (International Growth Center)
Nour Meddahi (Toulouse School of Economics)
Alemu Mekonnen (Addis Ababa University)
Ismael Mourifie (University of Toronto)
Victor Murinde (SOAS University of London)
Yaw Nyarko (New York University)
Sophie Osotimehin (Université du Québec à Montréal)
Lemma W.  Senbet (University of Maryland)
Abderrahim Taamouti (University of Liverpool)
Edilegnaw Wale (University of the Free State, South Africa)

Local Organizer

  1. Dr. Amdissa Teshome (EEA President, Chairperson)
  2. Professor Mengistu Ketema (CEO of the EEA, Secretary)
  3. Dr. Semeneh Bessie (Partnership and Communication Director, EEA)
  4. Dr. Getachew Diriba (Private Consultant and Senior Government Advisor, Ethiopia)
  5. Mr. Zewdie Adane (Advisor, PDC, Ethiopia)
  6. Dr. Lemma Guddisa (Ethiopian Civil Service University)
  7. Mrs. Zeleka Paulos (UNICEF, Ethiopia)
  8. Dr. Beyene Tadesse (Private Consultant, Ethiopia)
  9. Mrs. Sinidu Abebe
  10. Dr. Addis Kassahun (Managing Partners at Kilimanjaro Consulting)
  11. Dr. Shawel Hailu(CEO, SCI plc New York, New York, United States)
  12. Dr. Seife Ayele (US University of SUSSU)

For further information, please contact the conference coordinator at

Program link for the details:

Econometric Society Sponsors